PRISM Quartet

PRISM Quartet with Orchestra: Concertos for Saxophone Quartet

The PRISM Quartet’s concerto performances with the Cleveland Orchestra, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Dallas Symphony Orchestra, and many others, have been hailed by critics and audiences alike. PRISM champions an exhilarating new repertoire of saxophone quartet concertos, including works written especially for them by two quintessentially American composers: Pulitzer Prize-winner William Bolcom and Guggenheim Fellow Steven Mackey. Both works are featured on PRISM’s 2010 innova release, Concertos for Saxophone Quartet, with the Boston Modern Orchestra Project. PRISM also performs concertos by the iconic Philip Glass and Pulitzer Prize-winners Steven Stucky and Wayne Peterson, and rising star Matt Browne.


  • Steven Mackey

  • Philip Glass

  • William Bolcom

  • Steven Stucky

  • Matt Browne

    Matt Browne

Program Repertoire

William Bolcom (b. 1938) Concerto Grosso for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra (2000)+
Steven Mackey (b. 1956) Animal, Vegetable, Mineral for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra (2005)+
Philip Glass (b. 1937) Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra (1995)
Steven Stucky (b. 1949) Music for Saxophones and Strings (1996)
Wayne Peterson (b. 1927) And the Winds Shall Blow (1994)