PRISM Quartet

PRISM’s Hit Parade

The PRISM Quartet’s most popular program, Hit Parade, features a cross-section of traditional and contemporary music. New works reflect the enormous range of cultural and aesthetic influences on today’s composers. Praised by The Philadelphia Inquirer for its ability to “move effortlessly between styles,”  the program includes two stunningly beautiful sets of adaptations: Schumann Bouquet, selections from Robert Schumann’s Album for the Young, arranged for the PRISM Quartet by the Pulitzer Prize-winning composer William Bolcom; and selected movements from Italian composer Salvatore Sciarrino’s Pagine (Pages), a book of adaptations of works by J. S. Bach, Domenico Scarlatti, George Gershwin, Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa, and more.



Matthew Levy, Executive Director
PRISM Quartet, Inc.
(215) 438-5282
matt at prismquartet dot com

  • Roshanne Etezady

    Roshanne Etezady

  • Salvatore Sciarrino

  • Robert Schumann

    Robert Schumann

  • Georg Friedrich Haas

    Georg Friedrich Haas

  • Martin Bresnick

    Martin Bresnick

  • William Bolcom

  • George Gershwin

    George Gershwin

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Johann Sebastian Bach




Program Repertoire

KEEN (2004) by Roshanne Etezady (b. 1973)
Salvatore Sciarrino (b. 1947) Pagine (Pages, 1998)+
  • Carlo Gesualdo da Venosa (1564–1619) Madrigal: Itene miei sospir
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) Fughetta (super Diess sind die heil’gen zehn Gebot)
  • George Gershwin (1898–1937) Who cares?
  • Domenico Scarlatti Sonata L. 215
Steamboat (2014) by Michael Daugherty (b. 1954)+
Above (2013) by Matthew Levy (b. 1963)
Schumann Bouquet by Robert Schumann (1810-1856), arr. 2015 by William Bolcom (b. 1938)+
  • I. Lieber Mai (The beautiful month of May)
  • II. Knecht Ruprecht (The bogeyman)
  • III. Sheherazade
  • IV. Ländler (a sort of German waltz)
  • V. Sehr langsam (Very slow)
  • VI. Lied italienischer Marinari (Song of the Italian boatmen)
Saxophone Quartet (2014) by Georg Friedrich Haas (b. 1953)+
Every Thing Must Go (2007) by Martin Bresnick (b. 1946)+
  • Andante